Liquid Gold


Keith Brauneis Productions and Caltrout are creating a short film about Golden Trout that will raise awareness of this magnificent fish, its habitat and its plight. We will submit to F3T and Wild & Scenic film tours (having aired with them last year) among other tours. We will examine current conditions and determine future threats to this species.

Production of the film is underway. The team of six is back from their two week journey scouring the creeks and alpine lakes of the Eastern Sierra mountain range seeking out the various descendants and hybrids of protogolden.  Producer, Keith Brauneis, had this to say about their journey,

“The team had such an incredible adventure making this film that it’s hard to describe. Maybe a film will help say what words can’t. I know I speak for all of us involved when I say that I hope the awareness raised by this film will further help to protect our amazing state fish.”

See photos and notes from the trip and stay up to date on the film by visiting George Revel’s blog at

We’d like to thank our donors who have helped make this project possible:

Alexander Winskie
Aaron Barr
Aaron Mazzrillo
Aaron Williams
Abby Kojola
Albert Redlhammer
Allan Marshall
Allan Williams
Amy Kileen
Angelo Ciotti
Anna Kauffman
Anonymous (11)
Anthony Karas
Bill Landreth
Burton Hopkins Jr.
Bus Gehring
Charles Hammerstad
Connie Mar
Craig Bentz
Craig Young
Daniel Eckhard
David Moser
David Welch
Davin Henderson
Delvin Harbour
Diana Vanderburg
Donald Bowley
Doug Ballinger
Douglas Sterling
Douglas Teakell
Edgar Vaughn
Frank Villalpando
Fred Leonard
Gary Backman
Gavin Lantry
Geoff Anderson
George Lazar
Gianni Donati
Glenn Johnson
Greg Hocevar
Greg Robinson
Howard Colter
James B. Anderson
James Osborne
Jeff Hughes
Jeffrey Henigan
Jeffrey Wood
Jerome Firpo
Jessica Ruggiero
Jim Kind
John Brinkley
John G. Motlow
John Hodgson
John Murray
John Nesheim
John Posehn
John Waldman
Josh May
Joshua Keller
Justin Williams
Kerry Reed
Lance Rava
Larry Weaver
Larry Welch
Laurence Paradis
Laurie McLellan
Lawrence Murphy
Lee Haines
Mark Sapiro
Mark Storer
Marshall Kilduff
Matthew Brown
Matthew R. Clark
Maury Swoveland
Michael Moran
Michael Rosauer
Michael Tadlock
Morgan Taggert
Nami Hirofuji
Paul Gatti
Paul Navlan
Peter Alan Burnes
Peter Rubens
Peter Williamson
Randall Renick
Ray Sugiyama
Reginald Gooden
Richard Behrens
Richard Bourdon
Richard Johnson
Richard Luczyski
Richard May
Richard Neuman
Robert Finch
Robert Gates
Robert Giusti
Ron Nuckles
Rudolph DeMay
Ryan Adamson
Ryan Crawford
Ryland Moore
Sandra Gray
Seth Hines
Sheila Harden
Sierra Pacific Fly Club
Simon Zlachevsky
Southern Sierra Fly Fishers
Stanley Ohara
Stephen Lofgren
Steven Eggert
Steven Hager
Steven Posner
Stewart Teal
Terry Price
Timothy Bartley
Tom Kaa
Tyler Dow
Ulrich Brossmann
Ulrich Brossmann
Valerie Donahue
William Mahin